fed and watered

I wanted to give a little shout out to the book, Dough by Richard Bertinet. Cass has been getting into making bread in preparation for the wood oven we are constructing in our summer holidays – watch this space! He has been using this book to prepare starters and make loaves of sour dough, whole meal and fruit loaf. Each loaf has worked out very well, been super tasty, and it has been nice to enjoy home made bread for toast in the mornings.

I am known to nick a hot slice of bread and lather it in butter, but I did learn that you can’t do this with rye. You need to wait for it to cool as it is not good for digestion to have hot. Who knew?!

All photography is my own, but I was lazy and didn’t write my name on the images as I usually do.

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. A few years ago, I went on Richard’s 5 day bread making course. I ended up training in France as a professional baker all due to him!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow! I pressed enter accidently there. It’s great that he inspired you in that direction

        Like

  2. Thanks for this post, I am a big fan of this website
    would like to go along updated.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

